Texas Marriage Laws

  • Texas does require a license. There is a fee for the license. This fee can vary from county to county, so check with your County Clerk's office.  

  • A marriage license issued in Texas is valid for a wedding ceremony in any Texas county.

  • There is a 72 hour waiting period between when you get your license and when the ceremony is performed. 

  • Both parties must be present to obtain a marriage license.

  • You must bring a valid picture ID to the County Clerk's office to get your license.

  • The marriage license is valid for 90 days after issuance.